Home Google How to Delete Your Google Search History

How to Delete Your Google Search History

If you are logged in while browsing something on Google, Google will be storing everything you type on the search box, regardless of the web browser you use. Your search history will be synced with other devices. So, next day when you search something on Google using the same account and keyword, the keyword you have used before will appear on the search box as suggested keyword.

For instance, if you are currently looking for something about Manchester United with they keyword of “Manchester United history” on desktop, you will see the this keyword appear on the Google search box (as a suggested keyword) if you search something about Manchester United the next day using different device, say Android smartphone. If something like this bothers you, you can delete your search history to stop Google from displaying suggested keywords.

You can delete your Google search history from the My Activity page. Here is how.

Delete Google search history

  • Visit the Google My Activity page and login with the Google account you want to delete the search history of.
  • On the Google My Activity Page, click the Delete activity by on the left panel.

  • Select the search period you want to delete. If you want to delete the search history from the beginning, simply select All time. On the product section, select Search and click the Delete button.

Stop Google from storing your search history

If you don’t want to Google to store your search history, Google also gives you an option to stop it from storing your search history. To stop Google from storing your search history you can pause the Web & App Activity option on the Google Account page.

  • Visit the Google Account page and login with your Google account.
  • Select Data & personalization on the left panel and click the Web & App Activity option.

Slide the button to pause.

Final thoughts

Like Google says, storing your activities, including search history, gives you a faster search. If you occasionally search something on Google Search and don’t want Google to store what you have typed, you can switch to the Incognito mode. By going to the Incognito mode, Google won’t save your browsing history, cookies and site data. However, if you really care about your privacy yet still can’t live without Google, stopping Google from storing your activities might can be the last option you can take.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

MOST-READ THIS WEEK